Visual Learner

From a young age I struggled with taking in text, simply digesting and understanding what I was reading. Throughout my studies I found this a real struggle and had to resort to different tactics, to apply and interpret the theory I was being taught. This mean’t taking paper and giving it meaning, which resulted in creating stories and visuals so that I could understand the theory and apply it.

A great example of this technique is my final year university exam revision, which looked a lot like this….

Believe it or not the crazy images above helped me pass my final year exam’s and gain a BA(Hons) certificate 2:1 in Events Management. Yes the girl who is a visual learner, who failed every exam first time round since her GCSE’s, finally cracked a visual learning technique in my final year of university. Which gave me a pass first time sitting the exam, I can’t tell you what a weight off my shoulders that was and what confidence it gave me moving forward.

Since then I’ve continue to apply this method of learning. One of my favourite authors Brian Solis who I also learn’t about in my final year dissertation research, introduced me to an artist known as Gapingvoid.

 

Gapingvoid is a consultancy and visual communications agency which started off in 2008. Gapingvoid has been informing culture and inspiring new thinking at companies from the likes of Microsoft and Rackspace to Goldman Sachs and Roche Pharmaceuticals. The power of meaningful inspiration and unique style of Gapingvoid works and executions sets us in the hybrid space of artist, creative, consulting and marketing gurus.

The Gapingvoid method involves Culture Science™, an evolution of Lean Six Sigma methodology to create measurable culture change. Executions are based in language and visuals that connect at a visceral, emotional level.

Gapingvoid images have since inspired different blog posts, articles and even small thoughts at the beginning of the day. The power of their visuals helps me interpret, learn and think in new ways. Below are just a few of my favourites.

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 15.00.49

The idea that collaboration alone within an organisation will not get you the results leaders are looking for. Collaboration paired with trust however will equal results.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 17.24.49

This one highlights that happiness is always in our own hands. It’s our choice, we can’t blame others for it or create reasons for it. If we are unhappy about something it’s time to change.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 17.24.23

Get up and go in the morning, every day is a new and full of opportunity. Quite often a motivational Monday image for me :).

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 13.19.17

A small reminder that the road from A to B is never as simple as it may seem, nor a straight line, however no matter how you get there remember it will be worth it.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 16.22.05

Another similar motivational post however it reminds me to think about change as growth, development and as exciting. Not to fear change but embrace it.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.44.19

 

A similar concept to the image above, however this one highlights that through facing our fears we grow and develop. I also like the monster in this one!

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 21.49.26

My final and favourite Gapingvoid is this one, that reminds us that passion lies behind the decisions made in life. We take in the information we need through our brain and we digest it, however the feeling it gives us to make an action out of it comes from our heart.

I hope you enjoyed this post, enjoy exploring your own learning techniques and if you are a visual learner take it as a gift!

 

If you want to chat further reach out to me anytime at @rblackmore91 on Twitter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

